Election Information

2021 Municipal Election Information

The combined Primary, School and Municipal election will be held June 8, 2021 with all municipal voters voting at:

National Guard Armory
603 Princeton Street
Vermillion, SD 57069
Phone: 605-677-7064

Vacant Offices

The following offices will become vacant due to the expiration of the present term of office:

  • Mayor: one-year term (minimum nominating petition signatures needed: 50)
  • Council Member Central Ward: three-year term (minimum nominating petition signatures needed: 50)

Nominating Petitions

Nominating petitions can be circulated starting March 1, 2021 and must be filed in the City Finance Office by 5:00 p.m. on March 30, 2021. No person may hold any elected municipal office who is not a qualified voter of the municipality/ward and who has not resided therein at least three months next preceding their election. Municipal nominating petitions are available at the City Finance Office or Secretary of State website. It is recommended to collect signatures above the minimum to allow for any that may be invalid. It is prudent to submit your petition with ample time prior to the deadline to allow you to collect additional signatures if there are not sufficient valid signatures presented on your initial petition.

Voter Registration

Voter registration for the County/School/Municipal Election to be held on June 8, 2021 will close at 5:00 p.m. on May 24, 2021. Failure to register by this date will cause forfeiture of voting rights for this election. If a resident is in doubt about whether they are registered, this can be checked at the Voter Information Portal at the Secretary of State website or by calling the Clay County Auditor at 605- 677-7120. 

Absentee Voting 

Absentee voting for the June 8, 2021 election will be available at the County Auditor’s office in late April (46 days prior to the election).

Additional Information

Any questions on the municipal election may be directed to Mike Carlson, Finance Officer at 605-677-7056 or email Mike Carlson.

Additional election information is available on the South Dakota Secretary of State's website.