Historic Preservation Commission

Agendas & Minutes

Agendas are available prior to the meetings. Minutes are available following approval.
View Most Recent Agendas and Minutes.


Term Expiration

Monica Iverson2021
Jim Wilson2021
Dietrik Vanderhill2022
Ed Gerrish2022
Cyndy Chaney2022
Susan Keith Gray2023
William Dendinger2023


On June 18, 2018 the Vermillion City Council established an Historic Preservation Commission in accordance with South Dakota Codified Law 1-19B-2.

Mission Statement

The mission of the Vermillion Historic Preservation Commission is to protect, preserve, and restore Vermillion’s historic and cultural assets through public education, workshops, and outreach to the community.


Vermillion Historic Districts

Bluff Historic District

Downtown Vermillion Historic District

Forest Avenue Historic District

University Historic District

PROPOSED South University Historic District

Helpful Links

Clay County Historic Preservation Commission

Clay County Historical Society

South Dakota State Historical Society

National Register of Historic Places